The Richmond Observer – UNC-Chapel Hill inducts 223 students at Phi Beta Kappa

CHAPEL HILL – Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most honored academic honorary society in the country, has inducted 223 students from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as new members.

The recent induction ceremony featured remarks by Chancellor Kevin M. Guskiewicz and Executive Vice Chancellor and Rector Robert A. Blouin, as well as a keynote address by Dr. John McGowan, Emeritus Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Hanes.

Membership in Phi Beta Kappa is open to undergraduate students of the College of Arts and Sciences and professional degree programs that meet strict eligibility criteria.

A student who has completed 75 hours of coursework in the liberal arts and sciences with a GPA of 3.85 or better on a 4-point scale, is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has completed 105 hours of coursework in the liberal arts and sciences with a cumulative GPA of 3.75. Grades obtained in other universities are not taken into account. Less than one percent of all students are eligible.

Past and present members of Phi Beta Kappa from across the country have included 17 US presidents, 42 US Supreme Court justices, more than 150 Nobel laureates, and numerous artistic, intellectual and political leaders.

Phi Beta Kappa has 290 chapters across the country. The UNC-Chapel Hill chapter, Alpha of North Carolina, was founded in 1904 and is the oldest of the state’s seven chapters. Each year, Phi Beta Kappa chapters and alumni associations across the country collect and distribute over $ 1 million in awards, scholarships and prizes for the benefit of high school and college students.

The Phi Beta Kappa officers in Carolina for 2021-2022 are students Kennedy Miller, president; Lucas Caïn, vice-president; and Mary Virginia Glennon, meeting secretary. James L. Leloudis, Professor of History, Peter T. Grauer Associate Dean for Honors Carolina and Director of the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence, is Section Executive Secretary and Educational Advisor.

Below are the names of all inductees, 151 of whom are from North Carolina. The names appear below alphabetically by North Carolina County, then by state and country. All study at the College of Arts & Sciences, unless otherwise specified.

(Editor’s note: RO only lists those in Richmond and Moore counties.)

Richmond County

Gabriella Taylor Paone, a junior with political science and peace, war and defense majors, from Rockingham.

Moore County

Larcie A. Britt, a junior with majors in neuroscience and exercise and athletic science and a minor in chemistry, of Pinehurst.

Emily Nicole Carlson, junior majoring in advertising, public relations and psychology, of Pinehurst.

Jamie Marie Lukow, senior with a major in English and Comparative Literature, from Southern Pines.

Weston Lee Murdock, a junior with majors in math and physics, of Pinehurst.

Danielle Nicole Richmond, junior major in psychology and English and comparative literature and minor in philosophy, from Pinehurst.

Source link

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Derry author Brian McGilloway named to long list for coveted detective writing honor

A Northern Ireland author is up for one of literature’s most coveted prizes after being …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.