The Nobel Jury to Announce the 2021 Literature Prize | national news

STOCKHOLM (AP) – The 2021 Nobel Prize for Literature is announced Thursday, an award that has in the past honored poets, novelists and even songwriter Bob Dylan.

The Swedish Academy will announce the recipient in Stockholm at around 1:00 p.m. (1100 GMT; 7:00 a.m. EDT). Winners are known to be difficult to predict. This year’s favorites, according to British bookies, include Kenyan Ngugi wa Thiong’o, French writer Annie Ernaux, Japanese writer Haruki Murakami, Canadian Margaret Atwood and Antigua-American writer Jamaica Kincaid.

Last year’s award went to American poet Louise Glück for what the judges described as her “unique poetic voice which, with austere beauty, makes individual existence universal”.

Glück was a popular choice after several years of controversy. In 2018, the award was postponed after allegations of sexual abuse rocked the Swedish Academy, the secret body that chooses the winners. The awarding of the 2019 prize to Austrian writer Peter Handke sparked protests because of his strong support for the Serbs during the Balkan wars of the 1990s.

The prestigious award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $ 1.14 million). The prize money comes from a bequest left by the creator of the prize, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the Physiology or Medicine Prize to Americans David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for their findings on how the human body perceives temperature and touch it.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded Tuesday to three scientists whose work has tidied up an apparent mess, helping to explain and predict the complex forces of nature, including expanding our understanding of climate change.

Benjamin List and David WC MacMillan were named Nobel laureates in chemistry on Wednesday for finding a simpler and greener way to build molecules that can be used to make compounds, including drugs and pesticides.

Upcoming awards will also be given for outstanding work in the fields of peace and economics.


Read more articles on past and present Nobel Prizes from The Associated Press at

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

“The music that shaped our country is back”

GLASTONBURY, Conn., July 29, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The Great American Songbook is to jazz, just …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.