“The animals of this country” shortlisted for the Arthur C Clarke Prize

UK, The animals of this country by Laura Jean McKay (Scribe) was shortlisted for the Arthur C Clarke Prize for Science Fiction.

McKay’s novel, which won the 2021 Victorian Prize for Literature and was shortlisted for a series of awards, most recently the ALS Gold Medal, imagines a world in which humans and animals become able to understand each other following a pandemic.

The animals of this country is one of six shortlist debuts for the 2021 Arthur C Clarke Award, the first all-debut shortlist in the award’s history. Are also shortlisted Infinity (Patience Agbabi, Canongate), The missing birds (Simon Jimenez, Titan), Vagabonds (Hao Jingfang, leader of Zeus), Edge of paradise (RB Kelly, NewCon Press) and Chilling effect (Valérie Valdès, Orbite).

Now in its 35th year, the Arthur C Clarke awards the best science fiction novel first published in the UK in the previous year. Namwali Serpell’s The old drift (Vintage) was the recipient of the 2020 award.

This year’s award winner will be announced in September.

Category: Local News Awards

Source link

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

‘Russian Seasons’ cultural project arrives in Seoul

The “Russian Seasons”, a cultural project that links Russia with other countries, is in South …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *