Sheikh Zayed Book Prize honors 2021 laureates

The Sheikh Zayed Book Prize took place as a hybrid ceremony on Monday evening to honor the winners of its 15th edition.
Image Credit: Provided

Abu Dhabi: Under the high patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the United Arab Emirates Armed Forces, the Sheikh Zayed Book Prize held a hybrid ceremony on Monday evening to honor the winners of its 15th edition. The ceremony took place on the sidelines of the 30th Abu Dhabi International Book Fair at the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center (Adnec) in the presence of a number of officials, writers and laureates.

This year, the award broke its previous record of nominations with a 23% increase in nominations, totaling 2,349 nominations. Since its launch in 2006, the Sheikh Zayed Book Prize has inducted 106 winners and received 19,000 nominations from 71 countries for its nine categories. The total value of the prize is 7 million dirhams.

This year’s award winners are Egyptian writer Iman Mersal for his book Fee Athar Enayat Al Zayyat (In the footsteps of Enayat Al-Zayyat), published in 2019 by the Al Kotob Khan Library, while Tunisian author Mizouni Bannani won the Children’s Literature Award for his book Rehlat Fannan (An Artist’s Journey), published by Dar Al Mua’nasa Publishing in 2020. The translation award went to Impostures of Al-Hariri, translated from Arabic to English by Michael Cooperson of the United States published by Library of Arabic Literature in 2020.

Book Fair

One of the most prestigious literary awards in the Arab world, the Sheikh Zayed Book Prize aims to showcase the most powerful, thought-provoking and inspiring works in the Arab world.
Image Credit: Provided

The prize for literary and artistic criticism was awarded to Tunisian researcher Khelil Gouia for his book Masar Al Tahdeeth fe Al Fonoon Al Tashkelyah, men Al Orsomah ella Al Lawha (The path of modernization in the visual arts, from drawing to painting), published by Editions Med Ali in 2020. The Prize for Contribution to the Development of Nations was awarded to Saeed El-masry of Egypt for his book Turath Al Iste’ela’a bayn Al Folklor wa Al Majal Al Deeny (Legacy of supremacy between folklore and religion), published by Batana Publishing and Distribution in 2019. Tahera Qutbuddin from the United States won the Arab Culture in Other Languages ​​award for her book Arabic oration: art and function, published in English by Brill Publishers in 2019.

The Young Author Prize was awarded to Dr Asma Muqbil Awad Alahmadi from Saudi Arabia for the study Eshkalyat Al Thaat Al Saredah Fee Al Rwayah Al Nesaayah Al Saudiah (The problems of the self told in the Saudi feminist novel (1999-2012) (Critical Study), published by Arab Scientific Publishers Inc. in 2020. Dar Al Jadeed from Lebanon won the Publishing and Technology Award.

One of the most prestigious literary prizes in the Arab world, the Sheikh Zayed Book Prize aims to showcase the most powerful, stimulating and stimulating works of the Arab world, and to encourage greater scholarship and creativity by recognizing and by rewarding those important cultural achievements in Arab culture. Since 2006, the award has garnered recognition, accolades and readership for the outstanding work of authors, translators, publishers and organizations around the world.

The Sheikh Zayed Book Prize launched its Translation Fellowship in 2018 to strengthen the global presence of Arabic literature, support Arab writers and enable them to publish their award-winning works in multiple languages.

Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Culture and Tourism Department, thanked His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan for sponsoring the award, which has become one of the most prestigious literary events in the world. Arab World.

“For 15 years, the Sheikh Zayed Book Prize celebrated unique and creative literary works that were distinguished, pioneering and inspiring, and were the best mediator between Arabs and the world. Our mother tongue is not just an aspect of heritage preserved and passed on to future generations, but a vital aspect of contemporary life and an intrinsic component of Arab identity, ”he said.

Ali bin Tamim, secretary general of the award, explained how the award has proven to be a beacon of culture and literature over its 15-year history, recognized and respected around the world as a champion of creativity.

“We celebrate the winners of the 15th edition which received a record number of submissions despite the challenges imposed by the pandemic; a testament to the prestigious status of the award, regional and international. The late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan instilled grace by laying the foundation of the nation and facing challenges honorably with word and deed.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Literature Festival returns this weekend | New

The Norfolk Public Library will host the 27th Annual Literature Festival on Saturday July 30. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.