Pulitzer Prizes Highlights – ABC17NEWS

Here is an overview of the Pulitzer Prize. The awards are presented each spring in recognition of achievements in journalism, music, literature and theater.

Other facts

June 11, 2021 – The Pulitzer Prizes are announced.

May 4, 2020 – Pulitzer Prizes announced.

Joseph Pulitzer, known as one of the greatest newspaper publishers in US history, created the award as part of his will.

Pulitzer’s pronunciation is “shoot it sir”.


Currently there are 22 categories and five scholarships.

Journalism: public service, current affairs report, investigative report, explanatory report, local report, national report, international report, report writing, commentary, criticism, editorial writing, editorial caricature, news photography, photographic report, report audio

Letters: Fiction, History, Biography, Poetry, Non-fiction.

Drama: play.

Music: Musical composition.

In 21 of the 22 categories, winners receive a cash prize of $ 15,000 and a certificate. The winner of the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is the only one to have received a gold medal. This award is always given to a newspaper and not to an individual.

The official entry rules can be found on the Pulitzer website.


1847 – Joseph pulitzer was born in Mako, Hungary. He arrived in the United States in the 1860s as a replacement for an enlisted person in the United States Army during the Civil War.

1878 – Pulitzer becomes owner of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

1883 – Pulitzer buys New York World. The Dispatch and the World are becoming huge successes due to their crusades against public and private corruption and sensationalist “yellow journalism”.

1904 – He is setting aside $ 2 million in his drive to create a graduate school of journalism at Columbia University, and calls for the creation of a system of awards in various creative fields.

1911 – Pulitzer dies aboard his yacht.

1912 – Columbia University School of Journalism is founded.

June 4, 1917 – The first Pulitzer Prizes are awarded. There are four awards in journalism, four in letters, one in education, and four travel awards.

1922 – The poetry category is established.

1943 – The music category is added.

1950 – Gwendolyn Brooks is the first African American to win a Pulitzer. She wins in the Poetry category for “Annie Allen”.

1962 – The non-fiction category is added.

1999 – Newspapers are permitted to use online presentations to supplement their entries in the public service category.

2002 – Cash rewards for winners are increased from $ 7,500 to $ 10,000.

2005 – It is announced that newspapers that also publish a print edition can submit nominations published online only, but online-only newspapers will still not be allowed to participate.

2012 – Entry rules are changed, “… All journalistic entries must be submitted electronically.. “

December 5, 2019 – Audio report category is added.

April 7, 2020 – The Pulitzer Prize committee issues a statement that the awards, which are expected to be announced on April 20, will be postponed to May 4 due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

June 11, 2021 – Pulitzer Prize Jury Co-Chair Marqués González announces Darnella Frazier, who filmed George Floyd’s death, has received special citation.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Literature Festival returns this weekend | New

The Norfolk Public Library will host the 27th Annual Literature Festival on Saturday July 30. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.