Outstanding scholars | The current of UCSB

Four undergraduate, but soon to graduate, students from UC Santa Barbara’s College of Letters and Sciences earn academic honors as they graduate.

Stella Rufeisen, who earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychological and Brain Sciences, will receive the Dean’s Award for Excellence in recognition of her outstanding scholarship and contributions to the campus community. The award is given on behalf of the Deans of the College of Letters and Science.

Katherine Carmichael, who is leaving UCSB with a Bachelor of Arts in Communication and Political Science, will receive the Luis Leal Undergraduate Social Science Award for outstanding interdisciplinary achievement in the social sciences. The award was established in honor of the late Don Luis Leal, a distinguished visiting professor of Chicana and Chicano studies, whose presence and scholarship greatly enriched the Santa Barbara campus.

Katherine Dang, who is earning a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry, will receive the Francis Colville and Terry Dearborn Memorial Award for her outstanding academic achievements as a major science student. The award was established in memory of Colville and Dearborn, associate professors of physical education at UC Santa Barbara.

Mike Demavivas, who graduated with a Bachelor of Arts, will receive the William R. Reardon Undergraduate Award for outstanding academic achievement in an arts or humanities discipline. The award is named after Reardon, Emeritus Professor of Drama and former Associate Dean of the College of Letters and Science.

Additionally, Raphael Chinchilla, a Ph.D. candidate in electrical and computer engineering; Eugene Riordan Jr., a Ph.D. student of global studies; and Anna Roberts, Certified Classics Counselor, were named recipients of the 2021-2022 Dixon-Levy CSA Service Award. Receiving an honorable mention is Alyssa Lawson, a Ph.D. student in psychological and brain sciences.

Named for UC Santa Barbara graduate students Travis Dixon and Alan Levy, the award recognizes service to the university through the elected office of the Graduate Student Association, as well as others. forms of defense of graduate students.

The Graduate Student Teaching Excellence Awards are given in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Science recipients include Sihwa Park, a Ph.D. Candidate in Media Arts and Technology; Elizabeth Quinn, Ph.D. student in psychological and brain sciences; Sharad Shankar, Ph.D. electrical and computer engineering student; Susan Burtner, Ph.D. geography student; and Rachel Torres, Ph.D. student at the Bren School of Environmental Science & Management.

The recipients of the social science awards are Trevor Auldridge Reveles, Ph.D. sociology student and Eugene Riordan Jr., a Ph.D. student in global studies.

Humanities recipients include Lei Dou, a Ph.D. student of history; Jordan J. Tudisco, a Ph.D. candidate in comparative literature; Alexandra López-Vera, Ph.D. in Hispanic languages ​​and literatures; Maria Carolina Sintura, Ph.D. studying English;

Honorable mentions are Rachel Feldman and Reem Taha, both in Comparative Literature; Joyce King, in English; and Karla Larrañaga, from the Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Emirates News Agency – SIBF brings the world together: Swedish Ambassador

Thu 10-11-2022 21:16 PM SHARJAH, 10th November, 2022 (WAM) — Ahmed bin Rakkad Al Ameri, …