Marcus Rashford among the winners of the Books Are My Bag Readers Awards

England footballer Marcus Rashford was named Revolutionary Author of the Year at the Books Are My Bag Readers Awards.

he striker, 24, won the award for his book You Are A Champion, co-written with journalist Carl Anka.

The inspiration guide for young people includes tips on how to reach your potential and be successful.


Claudia Winkleman presenting the Marcus Rashford Award (1)

Claudia Winkleman presenting the Marcus Rashford Award (1)

The annual event, organized by bookstores and voted on by the reader, is now in its sixth year and was hosted at Foyles in Charing Cross Road in London by Claudia Winkleman.

Richard Osman’s Thursday Murder Club, a Sunday Times number one bestseller, was named Readers’ Choice.

The Pointless presenter said, “I am absolutely thrilled beyond words to win this award.

“Thank you Booksellers Association, thank you Books Are My Bag.

“Winning an award voted on by the readers is the absolute dream. It means a lot.

American poet Amanda Gorman won the prize in the poetry category with The Hill We Climb, the poem she recited during the inauguration of US President Joe Biden.

She said: “Thank you very much to the booksellers and readers for voting for The Hill We Climb as the BAMB winner of its poetry award.

“It means so much to me that booksellers and readers are truly the gatekeepers of literature.

“You all help keep the stories alive, so thank you very much for your support – it means a lot to me. “

This year’s winners also included Still Life of Sarah Winman, a historical fiction set in Italy during World War II, which won the Fiction Prize, and I Belong Here by Anita Sethi, a memoir that won the price of non-fiction.

The preselections for the prizes have been selected by the booksellers, while the winners are chosen by the public.

Source link

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Derry author Brian McGilloway named to long list for coveted detective writing honor

A Northern Ireland author is up for one of literature’s most coveted prizes after being …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.