Holberg Award to Martha C. Nussbaum and Griselda Pollock

PICTURE: Professor Martha C. Nussbaum (left) and Professor Griselda Pollock received the Holberg Prize for 2021 and 2020 on June 9. view After

Credit: Photo: Robert Tolchin (Nussbaum) / University of Leeds (Pollock).

At a virtual awards ceremony on June 9, hosted from Aula University in Bergen, Professor Griselda Pollock and Professor Martha C. Nussbaum received the International Research Prize. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the two winners were honored during the Holberg 2021 celebrations, which took place this week.

The Holberg Prize, worth NOK 6 million (approximately USD 720,000) is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social sciences, law or theology.

Griselda Pollock received the Holberg Prize 2020 for her profound influence on art history, as well as related fields including feminist film studies, trauma studies, and Holocaust studies. Pollock helped create the history of feminist art as an academic field in the 1970s, and as a global figurehead in feminist, social, queer, and postcolonial interventions in the history of art and studies. cultural, it has influenced thinking on gender, ideology, art and visual culture around the world for over 40 years.

In her acceptance speech, Pollock described how she viewed the award not only as recognition of art history as a discipline, but also of feminism as a historic event: “Not only a global social movement very successful women who campaign actively for justice, safety, health, security, citizenship and humanity of all women, the feminism of the late twentieth century engendered an intellectual and cultural revolution which is her contribution unique to the millennial struggle against patriarchy, ”Pollock said. “To be awarded a prize of this dimension as a contributor, even as a founding thinker, to this feminist theoretical-cultural revolution is profound and very moving.

Martha C. Nussbaum received the 2021 award for her pioneering contributions to research in philosophy, law and related fields, as well as for her role as a prolific public intellectual. His nearly five-decade career has focused on normative theorizing about justice and investigating the nature and role of emotions. Her research interests include ancient Greek and Roman philosophy, political philosophy, the philosophy of literature, feminism and ethics, as well as human and animal rights.

“Philosophical analysis, driven by the literary imagination, does not solve our problems,” Nussbaum said in his acceptance speech. “But philosophy can help us understand ourselves and see where the problems lie, and it can also help us identify less productive ways to address them,” she continued. “In its methods, the philosophy also embodies part of the solution: a decent, respectful, rational and imaginatively engaged way of relating to others.

About the winners

Griselda Pollock (b.1949) is currently Professor Emeritus of Social History and Art Criticism and Director of the Center for Cultural Analysis, Theory and History at the University of Leeds. She is a transdisciplinary cultural analyst of modernity and its traumas and a dedicated feminist art historian, meaning a critical examination of the discipline of art history with the help of the widest range of theories. cultural and multiple perspectives. Pollock has taught at the universities of Reading, Manchester and Leeds.

To date, Pollock has published 22 monographs and four are forthcoming. She has edited 20 books and published hundreds of scientific articles in journals and books. Her books include Old Mistress: Women, Art and Ideology, co-authored with Roszika Parker (1981; latest edition, 2020; Spanish and French translations, 2021), Vision and Difference (1988), Differencing the Canon: Feminist Desire and the Writing of Art Stories (1999); Encounters at the Virtual Feminist Museum: Time, Space and Archives (2007), Trauma and Aesthetic Transformation at the Virtual Feminist Museum (2013), Charlotte Salomon and the Theater of Memory (2018 ), and co-edited with Max Silverman, Concentrationary Art; Jean Cayrol, the Lazarean and the Daily in Post-War Cinema, Literature, Music and Art (2020).

Pollock has written catalog articles and essays reviewing our understanding of artists such as Lee Krasner, Eva Hesse, Louise Bourgeois, Lubaina Himid, Georgia O’Keeffe, Vera Frenkel, Bracha Ettinger, Alina Szapocznikow, and many more. She has also edited four volumes of studies in ‘Concentrationary Memories’ with Max Silverman. From this series, Concentrationary Cinema (2011) received the 2011 Kraszna-Krausz Prize for the best book on the moving image.

Martha C. Nussbaum (born 1947) is Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, University of Chicago, appointed to the Faculty of Law and the Department of Philosophy. She has taught at Harvard University, Brown University, Oxford University, and the University of Chicago.

Nussbaum has written 27 books, three of which are in progress. She has also published around 500 articles. His books include The Fragility of Goodness (1986); In Cultivating Humanity (1997); Gender and Social Justice (1998); and Women and Human Development (2000). In the latter, she develops her approach to capabilities, which is explored in more detail in Frontiers of Justice (2006) and in Creating Capabilities (2011). Nussbaum presents his theory of emotions in Upheavals of Thought (2001) and develops it further in From Disgust to Humanity (2010), Political Emotions (2013) and Anger and Forgiveness (2016). In The Monarchy of Fear (2018), she focuses on the political crisis that polarized the United States after the 2016 presidential election. Her latest book is Citadels of Pride: Sexual Abuse, Accountability, and Reconciliation (2021 )


About the Holberg Prize

Established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003, the Holberg Prize is one of the largest annual international research prizes awarded to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The award is funded by the Norwegian government through a direct allocation from the Ministry of Education and Research at the University of Bergen. Previous winners include Cass Sunstein, Onora O’Neill, Stephen Greenblatt, Julia Kristeva, Jürgen Habermas, Manuel Castells and Marina Warner. To learn more about the Holberg Prize and the call for nominations, visit prixholberg.org.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Literature Festival returns this weekend | New

The Norfolk Public Library will host the 27th Annual Literature Festival on Saturday July 30. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.