Facts about the Nobel Prize and India’s 9 Nobel Laureates so far

The Nobel Prize, the most prestigious award in the world, is awarded to exceptional people in the fields of academic, scientific or cultural advancement.

It was started in 1901 by Alfred Nobel who in his will signed his “Remaining Realizable Assets” to be awarded as a Nobel Prize. The assets were over SEK 31 million (which would be around SEK 1,702 million today).

The Nobel Prize is awarded each year in six categories: physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics and the peace prize. Each Nobel Prize comes with 9,000,000 SEK (Swedish crowns) or around Rs 7 crore 22 lakh rupees.

To date, nine Indians have received the Nobel Prize.

Here are some facts about the Nobel Prize:

1. From 2020, 603 Nobel Prizes were awarded to 962 laureates in all six categories. Many Nobel Prizes are shared by a number of recipients.

2. The Nobel Prize ceremony takes place in Stockholm, Sweden, every year on the occasion of the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel. The Peace Prize is not awarded at this ceremony in Stockholm but presented each year in Oslo, Norway, in the presence of the King of Norway, the same day.

3. Only 57 women received the Nobel Prize from 2020. Marie Curie is the first woman to win the Nobel Prize and the only one to have received it twice – in 1903 for physics and in 1911 for chemistry.

4. The middle age of the Nobel Prize winners is 60 years.

5. Malala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel laureate who received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014 at the age of only 17. The the oldest recipient is John B Goodenough who received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2019 at the age of 97.

6. Four scientists have twice won the Nobel Prize – Marie Curie, John Bardeen, Linus Pauling and Frederick Sanger.

Here is the list of India’s nine Nobel Laureates to date:

1. Abhijit Banerjee for the economy, 2019

2. Kailash Satyarthi for Peace, 2014

3. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan for chemistry, 2009

4. Amartya Sen for the economy, 1998

5. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar for physics, 1983

6. Mother Teresa for Peace, 1979

7. Hargobind Khorana for medicine, 1968

8.Raman CV for physics, 1930

9. Rabindranath Tagore for literature, 1913

To read: Four scientists who won the Nobel Prize twice

Read: 10 Women Who Won The Nobel Prize And Broke The Glass Ceiling

Read: 7 facts about Mother Teresa and why she won the Nobel Peace Prize

Source link

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Derry author Brian McGilloway named to long list for coveted detective writing honor

A Northern Ireland author is up for one of literature’s most coveted prizes after being …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.