Celebrate Pride Month with a New Series of Virtual Authors | Characteristics

Eight award-winning and groundbreaking authors representing both literary excellence and LGBTQ pride will speak about literature and life at Augusta University’s College of Education this summer.

Registration is now open for the Pride Month Authors’ Series, hosted by the Augusta University Writing Project.

The series is a continuation of the AU Writing Project’s one-year author series, which hosted 21 authors on campus.

Dr Rebecca G. Harper, Director of the AU writing project, said expanding a series of authors to focus on storytelling from an LGBTQ perspective is crucial in helping to complete the cultural narrative.

“LGBTQ + authors and titles are often overlooked or under-represented in classroom instruction and in some libraries. It is important to ensure that teachers are aware of the wide range of award-winning titles and authors that address LGBTQ + themes and individuals, ”said Harper.

A lack of inclusive storytelling means that it can be more difficult for students to connect with reading and literature. It can also send the message that their experiences don’t matter.

“Students should be able to see themselves in the literature they read in class. When these voices are not represented, their voices are silenced, ”Harper said. “Their stories matter because the students matter.

“It also represents an opportunity for those working in literature and education to engage with authors in a way that creates class bridges,” added Harper.

The author series is free, virtual and open to the public in order to make these authors and their works more accessible. All sessions start at 7 p.m. Registration is now open online at bit.ly/2021prideauthors.

The virtual link will be emailed to attendees prior to each event.

The series will begin on June 1 with an appearance by Lesléa Newman, author of the pioneering children’s book “Heather Has Two Mommies”. Other authors include Bill Koningsberg, Lev Rosen, Meredith Russo, Mark Oshiro, Chris Beam, Alex Gino, and Susan Kuklin.

“Each of these authors was chosen not only because of their literary success, but also because of the unique perspectives they can offer and their commitment to the LGBTQ + community,” said Harper.

Pride Month Authors’ Series Calendar

• June 1: Lesléa Newman.

• June 7: Bill Konigsberg.

• June 9: Lev Rosen.

• June 14: Meredith Russo.

• June 16: Mark Oshiro.

• June 21st: Cris Beam.

• 23 june: Alex Gino.

• June 28: Susan Kuklin.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

“The music that shaped our country is back”

GLASTONBURY, Conn., July 29, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The Great American Songbook is to jazz, just …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.