Author! Author! Literary Series Presents a Trio of Dynamic Writers for Virtual 10th Season

BEND, Ore. (KTVZ) – Author of the Deschutes Public Library Foundation! Author! literary series rings in its tenth season with three powerful writers: Amy Tan, Tommy Orange and Neil Gaiman. The new season will be entirely virtual, with each author bringing a unique voice and perspective to the table:

AMY TAN | January 13 • 7:00 p.m. | In line

New York Times successful writer AMY TAN is the author of six novels, as well as several collections of short stories, children’s books and non-fiction. His first book, The Joy of Luck club, garnered enthusiastic reviews as well as an eight-month spot on The New York Times list of best sellers; he was also a finalist for the National Book Award. Tan’s work has been adapted into several different forms of media. The Joy of Luck club has been adapted into a play and film. His novel The bonesetter’s daughter was adapted into an opera, and his children’s book Sagwa, the Chinese Siamese cat was adapted into an animated television show.

TOMMY ORANGE | February 3 • 7:00 p.m. | In line

TOMMY ORANGE is the author of There there, who was one of the The New York Times’ best books of 2018 and Pulitzer Prize finalist. He received the American Book Award 2019 as well as the PEN / Hemingway Award. Her writing credits also include short stories in literary magazines, such as McSweeney’s, Zoetrope: the whole story and Zyzzyva. Orange is a graduate of the MFA program at the Institute of American Indian Arts. He was a MacDowell Fellow in 2014 and in 2016 Writing by Writers Fellow. He is a registered member of the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes of Oklahoma.

NEIL GAIMAN | March 6 • Time to come | In line

Prolific writer NEIL GAIMAN is the author of dozens of works of short fiction, novels, comics, graphic novels, non-fiction, audio theater and films. His works include the comic book series The sand man and novels Stardust, American gods, Coraline and The cemetery book. Its many awards include the Hugo,


Nebula and Bram Stoker Awards, as well as the Newbery and Carnegie medals. He is the first author to win both the Newbery and Carnegie medals for the same work, The cemetery book. In 2013, his novel The ocean at the end of the road was voted Book of the Year at the British National Book Awards.

“Author’s tenth year! Author! is definitely a cause for celebration, ”said Chantal Strobel, project director for the series. “We are delighted to bring in three writers from diverse backgrounds who work in a range of genres. By keeping the series live for 2022, we can ensure that we are providing the safest experience possible for everyone while potentially reaching new audiences. If anyone wants to buy a holiday gift for a book loving friend across the country, they can. The online format means that no one is limited by geography.

Series tickets are only $ 90 per person, or $ 35 for an individual presentation. For people watching in a group or “household”, the price is $ 125 for the series, or $ 55 per event. Serial tickets go on sale Friday, November 19. After January 3, individual and serial tickets will be available for purchase. The money raised through ticket sales is used by the Foundation to support library programs and services that are not funded by taxpayer dollars.

Tickets will be available from Friday November 19 at Author 2022! Author! The season is made possible by ticket sales and these main sponsors: Echo Fund, Lonza and First Interstate Bank.

For more information, visit the Foundation’s website at or call (541) 312-1027.

Source link

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Cost of living crisis slows UK consumer spending, but holiday bookings take off | Retail business

Soaring UK living costs and a record rise in household energy bills last month have …