14 U.S. Fulbright Awards, 12 Simons Foundation Junior Research Fellows, and other institutional milestones

Colombia News produces a bi-weekly newsletter (subscribe here!) and a series of articles featuring a roundup of awards and milestones Columbia faculty, staff, and students have received in recent days. In this edition, you will find rewards and milestones from March 24 to April 7, 2022.

Do you have an award or milestone that you would like to see featured in the newsletter or online article? Please send an e-mail to [email protected]. Note that we will air this series every two weeks.

You can take a look at past achievements on our Awards and Milestones page. And you can sign up to receive the newsletter in your inbox.


Columbia University Irving Medical Center inclusive hiring program, Project PossABILITY, which connects workers with intellectual or developmental disabilities to employment opportunities at the medical center, received a 2022 Personalized Employment Award.

Marjorie MillerVice President and Global Business Editor at The Associated Press, was named a Pulitzer Prize administrator after extensive research.



Lola Ben AlonAssistant Professor, GSAPP, and Shiho Kawashima, Associate Professor, Columbia Engineering, received a National Science Foundation Fellowship for “Process-structure-property relationships of 3D printed earth materials and structures.

Keren Bergman, Charles Batchelor, professor of electrical engineering, was appointed “Person to Watch” by HPCwire, a source of information on high performance computing. She is also program chair for ISC 2022, a conference dedicated to high-performance computing, machine learning, and high-performance data analytics.

Margo Jeffersonwho teaches in the School of Arts’ writing program, is one of the 2022 non-fiction honorees of Yale University Windham-Campbell Prize.

Haruo ShiraneShincho Professor of Japanese Literature and Culture and Director of the Donald Keene Japanese Culture Center, was elected honorary member of The Academy of Japan. This is the highest recognition given in Japan to scholars in any field.

Colm ToibinProfessor of Humanities Irene and Sidney B. Silverman, received the Folio Rathbones Award 2022 for his novel The magician.


Nine of the 12 researchers chosen by the Simons Foundation as 2022 Junior Fellows, part of its Simons Society of Fellows program, is traveling to Colombia this summer to begin fully-funded postdoctoral positions in fields ranging from neuroscience to quantum information theory. They are: Daniel Alabi, Morris Ang, Eric Arsenault, Sophie Huberts, Lachlan Lancaster, Olivier Philcox, Cynthia Steinhardt, André Toussaintand Lynn Yap.

Christina Brezing, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry in the Division of Substance Use Disorders in the Department of Psychiatry, received funding from the VP&S COVID-19 Fund to retain clinician-scientists from the Academic Affairs Office of the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Alwyn Cohallprofessor of public health and pediatrics, was appointed the 2022-2023 Vanneck-Bailey Fellow of the Virginia Apgar Academy of Medical Educators at the Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons.

Nour Makarem, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, to Receive Trudy Bush Award for Cardiovascular Disease Research in Women’s Health at EPI | 2022 Lifestyle Scientific Sessions in Chicago.

Myrna Weissman, Diane Goldman Kemper Professor of Family Epidemiology in the Department of Psychiatry has been selected as the recipient of the 2023 Mood Disorders Award from the American College of Psychiatrists. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the understanding and treatment of mood disorders.


Daniel Villatoro, a human rights fellow at the Institute for the Study of Human Rights, won a global award for young journalists from One Young World.


Fourteen students and alumni from three undergraduate schools received Fulbright US Student Program Awards for the 2021-2022 Fulbright Award Year. The 14 winners are currently spread across seven countries, and you can see the list here.

A team of three SIPA students, Lena Arkawi (SIPA’22), Namir Ahmad (SIPA’22), and Silvana Zapata-Ramirez (SIPA’23), won top honors in a competition between representatives of the seven member schools of the Global Public Policy Network.

Tony Bodulovic (CC’22), major in political science, received the David Bohnett Public Service Fellowship.

Seven Columbia undergraduates, Antoine Costanzo (GS’23), Gilda DelBianco (CC’25), Audrey Kost (GS’23), Nicholas Lama (CC’24), Charles Smith (CC’22), Ysabella Saifel Titi (GS’23), and William Yuen Yee (CC’22), have been shortlisted for the 2022 Critical Language Fellowship.

Five Columbia students, Ethan Feng (CC’23), Arjun Kudinoor (CC’23), steven wang (CC’23), Sarah Xi (CC’23), and Chujun ‘Julia’ Zhao (SEAS’23), were named Goldwater Scholars this year. The Goldwater Scholarship represents the preeminent undergraduate award in the fields of mathematics, natural sciences, and engineering.

William Yuen Yee (CC’22), who obtained a double major in political science and East Asian studies, received the Michel-David Weill scholarship at Sciences Po.

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Booker Prize winner whose Wolf Hall captivated a generation – Obituary

Writer Hilary Mantel at Buckingham Palace after receiving a CBE from Queen Elizabeth II. Dame …