11 Union student-athletes recognized on award day

SCHENECTADY, ​​NY – Union College held its annual awards day on Saturday, with many Union College student-athletes combining to earn 11 honors in recognition of their academic achievement. Nine of the Union’s 26 varsity sports were represented with at least one award, with men’s hockey and softball leading the way with two each.

For the first time in three years, the ceremony returned in person. The campus community came together to witness the presentation of 112 awards to honor students for their achievements in academics, research, service and governance.

In addition to President David Harris, the award day ceremony featured remarks from Michele Angrist, Dean of Faculty Stephen J. and Diane K. Ciesinski and Vice President of Academic Affairs; Fran’Cee Brown-McClure, Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students; Lynn Evans, Class Dean for the Class of 2022; and Michelle Osborn, acting dean of studies.

Samuel S. Feuer Award (1925) – To the senior pre-medical student who is primarily interested in dentistry and has maintained the highest four-year school average.
Julia Ball (Balloon-soft)

Hans Hainebach Memorial Prize for German LiteratureTo a second- or third-year student who has shown particular promise as a student of German literature.
Lichuanxiong (Women’s Tennis)

Roger H. Hull Community Service Award – To the elder who has rendered the greatest sustained service to the greater Schenectady community by initiating or being actively engaged in an ongoing community service project.
Josh Kosak (Men’s Ice Hockey)

Harold A. Larrabee Award – To the student who has done the best work in philosophy during the year.
Henry Kahl (Men’s Soccer)

John Lewis March Award – To an older person who has shown an increased interest and ability in psychology during the last two years of college education.
Fletcher Fineman (Men’s Ice Hockey)

Elias Peissner Prize – To an economics student who has done work of exceptional merit.
Ali Sommer (women’s lacrosse)

Martin Terry Resch Award – To the eldest who shows the greatest promise of advanced study in pure or applied mathematics.
Laura Vinton (women’s basketball)

Calvin G. Schmidt Award (1951) – To the member of the junior class who has contributed the most to improving student life on campus.
Anna Zdunczyk (Balloon-soft)

Joel D. Ticknor Award (1960) – To the senior graduate who has demonstrated long-term thinking skills and plans to use their career to help solve the world’s most pressing problems.
Sophie Anderson (Female Crew)

Frances Travis Award – To a student progressing through college who has shown unusual responsibility and self-reliance.
Glory Moncion Allen (women’s athletics)

Lee, William, Dr Norman ’43 and Dr George ’53 Wrubel Memorial Award – To a senior preparing for dentistry or medicine, depending on both academic performance and character.
Grace Heiting (women’s ice hockey)

For a full list of 2022 Awards Day winners, visit https://www.union.edu/news/stories/202205/unglid-paul-22-and-bethany-costello-22-win-top-honors-prize-day-0

About Christopher Rodgers

Check Also

Emirates News Agency – SIBF brings the world together: Swedish Ambassador

Thu 10-11-2022 21:16 PM SHARJAH, 10th November, 2022 (WAM) — Ahmed bin Rakkad Al Ameri, …